Posted in Quotes

Faust – JW von Goethe (1831)

Scene 1, pg. 22

Wagner:

“Ah, God! but Art is long,

And Life, alas! is fleeting.”

pg. 23

“Most zealously I seek for erudition:

Much do I know – but to know all is my ambition.”

Faust (solus):

pg. 24-25

“If hopeful Fancy once, in daring flight,

Her longings to the Infinite expanded,

Yet now a narrow space contents her quite,

Since Time’s wild wave so many a fortune stranded.”

“Shall here a thousand volumes teach me only

That men, self-tortured, everywhere must bleed, –

And here and there one happy man sits lonely?”

Second Part, Act I

pg. 14-15

Mephistopheles:

How closely linked are Luck and Merit,

Doth never to these fools occur:

Had they the Philosopher’s Stone, I swear it,

The Stone would lack the Philosopher!

Author:

Stories and scribbles from imagination and life, meant to amuse as you peruse at your leisure, while perhaps offering in return for your time, a modicum of pleasure. Some words may offer comfort, should such need arise, perhaps a bit of joy, or new ideas to surmise. Or a tear or two might stealthily travel down a cheek, for strong emotions to elicit a writer must certainly seek. Though some may be dull, others may be awfully clever, at least I hope you find it so, for such is my endeavor. And as long as the muse continues to inspire me to write, so I'll keep on doing for such is my delight. Happy reading.

Leave a comment