Posted in Quotes

Machiavelli Letters – 1513

Letter from Niccolo Machiavelli to Francesco Vettori, 10 December 1513


On the coming of evening, I return to my house and enter my study; and at the door I take off the day’s clothing, covered with mud and dust, and put on garments regal and courtly; and reclothed appropriately, I enter the ancient courts of ancient men, where, received by them with affection, I feed on that food which only is mine and which I was born for, where I am not ashamed to speak with them and to ask them the reason for their actions; and they in their kindness answer me; and for four hours of time I do not feel boredom, I forget every trouble, I do not dread poverty, I am not frightened by death; entirely I give myself over to them.

And because Dante says it does not produce knowledge when we hear but do not remember, I have noted everything in their conversation which has profited me, and have composed a little work On Princedoms (De principatibus), where I go as deeply as I can into considerations on this subject, debating what a princedom is, of what kinds they are, how they are gained, how they are kept, why they are lost.

Author:

Stories and scribbles from imagination and life, meant to amuse as you peruse at your leisure, while perhaps offering in return for your time, a modicum of pleasure. Some words may offer comfort, should such need arise, perhaps a bit of joy, or new ideas to surmise. Or a tear or two might stealthily travel down a cheek, for strong emotions to elicit a writer must certainly seek. Though some may be dull, others may be awfully clever, at least I hope you find it so, for such is my endeavor. And as long as the muse continues to inspire me to write, so I'll keep on doing for such is my delight. Happy reading.

Leave a comment